About India

Location: The Indian peninsula is separated from mainland Asia by the Himalayas. The Country is surrounded by the Bay of Bengal in the east, the Arabian Sea in the west, and the Indian Ocean to the south. India occupies a major portion of the south Asian subcontinent.

Geographic Coordinates: Lying entirely in the Northern Hemisphere, the Country extends between 8° 4' and 37° 6' latitudes north of the Equator, and 68°7' and 97°25' longitudes east of it.

Indian Standard Time: GMT + 05:30

Capital: New Delhi

Border Countries: Afghanistan and Pakistan to the north-west; China, Bhutan and Nepal to the north; Myanmar to the east; and Bangladesh to the east of West Bengal. Sri Lanka is separated from India by a narrow channel of sea, formed by Palk Strait and the Gulf of Mannar.

Coastline : 7517 km encompassing the mainland, Lakshadweep Islands, and the Andaman & Nicobar Islands.

Climate: The climate of India can broadly be classified as a tropical monsoon one. But, in spite of much of the northern part of India lying beyond the tropical zone, the entire country has a tropical climate marked by relatively high temperatures and dry winters. There are four seasons - winter (December-February), (ii) summer (March-June), (iii) south-west monsoon season (June-September), and (iv) post monsoon season (October- November)

Terrain: The mainland comprises of four regions, namely the great mountain zone, plains of the Ganga and the Indus, the desert region, and the southern peninsula.

Political Profile:

Country Name: Republic of India ; Bharat Ganrajya

Government Type: Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary system of Government.

Administrative Divisions :28 States and 7 Union Territories.

Constitution: The Constitution of India came into force on 26th January 1950. The Constitution of India is the fountain source of the legal system in the Country.

Executive Branch: The President of India is the Head of State, while the Prime Minister is the Head of the Government and runs office with the support of the Council of Ministers who forms the Cabinet.

Languages: There are 22 different languages that have been recognised by the Constitution of India, of which Hindi is an Official Language. English has by law been designated the language for official purposes.

Literacy Rate (Census 2011): 74.04 Percent

Gross Domestic Product growth rate during 2011-12: 6.9 per cent

Per capita income during 2011-12 [at constant (2004-05) prices]: US$ 771.72 (Rs 38005)

Forex Reserves (end of July 13,2012) ): US$ 286.75 billion

Exports (June 2012): US$ 25.07 billion

Cumulative value of Exports (April-June 2012 -13): US$ 75.20 billion

Imports (June 2012): US$ 35.37 billion

Cumulative value of Imports (April-June 2012 -13): US$ 115.26 billion

Amount of FDI inflows for 2012-13 (for June 2012): US$ 1.24 billion

Amount of FDI equity inflows for the financial year 2012-13 (from April 2012 to June 2012):US$ 4.43 billion

Cumulative amount of FDI equity inflows [excluding amount remitted through RBI's-NRI schemes] (from April 2000 to June 2012): US$ 174.71 billion

Top 10 Sectors attracting highest FDI inflows: Services Sector (19 per cent), Construction development: Townships,, housing, built-up infrastructure* (12 per cent), Telecommunications (7 per cent), Computer Software & Hardware (6 per cent), Drugs & Pharmaceuticals (6 per cent),Chemicals (other than Fertilizers) (5 per cent),Power (4 per cent), Automobile Industry (4 per cent), Metallurgical Industries (4 per cent), Petroleum & natural gas (3 per cent)

Top 10 Investing Countries: Mauritius (38 per cent), Singapore (10 per cent),U.K (9 per cent),Japan (7 per cent),U.S.A (6 per cent),Netherlands (4 per cent), Cyprus (4 per cent), Germany (3 per cent), France (1 per cent), U.A.E (--)

Copyright ©2012 by Indo Czech Chamber of Commerce.   Design By: victorianetsolutions.com